Contra “The Controlling” Catholic Church: Against the Notions of Pluralism and Criticism that The Church is a Monopoly on Spirituality   Leave a comment

1. Introduction

“When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me.” (1 Corinthians 13:11)

As a child coming of age into young adult years, my Reversion to Catholicism is one marked by an initial hatred for The Catholic Church as I understood it. I was the poster child of Progressive Modernist thought who yet embodied a fierce New Age Protestantism about things pertaining to The Church and the surrounding cultural and spiritual developments that I found myself growing up around in. This series is written to rebuke the writings of my Youth, a sort of self-imposed Penance to atone for my own personal ignorance. The writings of my youth are held on the internet at the Yahoo! Voices website, there are 4 Articles written between July to November 2007, just after my graduation from High School. It should be noted that the rebuke is thematically addressed rather than chronologically answered.

The First Article written in July 2007 was titled, “Christianity Vs. True Christianity: A Problem with the Church?” This article embodied perfectly my Anti-Catholic view influenced by Progressive Modernism, Protestant propaganda yet New Age influences at the time. The Second Article written in August 2007 was title, “Church of Christ: The Church is Not the Real Thing!” This article embodied my confusion and the varieties of cultural propaganda set against the Church, this article sounds most like what I hear today, and that I have come to most fight against today. The Third Article was written in the same month and was titled, “Is the Bible Really Full and Complete?” This article was my argument that the Bible was incomplete and that since it has been left to many revisions it is no longer a trustworthy book, this attack the notion that The Bible was the Complete and Final Word of God. The Fourth and Final Article was written in November 2007 and was titled, “My Road to Christian Gnosticism” Here it is showcased for all to see my love of Heterodoxy and lack of understanding of Orthodoxy, of course in celebrating fighting against the superstitious ignorance of the Church I now confess that I was the one being superstitious and ignorant.


PART ONE – AGAINST THE YOUTUBE HERESIES

PART TWO – AGAINST THE YOUTUBE HERESIES

II. My Argument Against My Past Self

When I was younger and ill-informed I was of Spiritually Pluralistic minded mentality and I was offended at any one religion making a Total Truth claim. However as I got older and investigated The Church further I learned that “Religious Tolerance” under the guise of Religious Pluralism was not designed to be at the service of the Unified Transcendent Truth but was designed solely for the Heresy of Modernism, with its celebration of Moral Relativism and Personal Subjectivism, something for a long time I already opposed. This post is written to show that Truth is Singular and that The Church truly is the Fullness of the Living Spirit.

Ask any person what Truth is, they will tell you it is a certainty in something causing strong conviction. More to the point Truth illuminates and guides all things. Either way you cut it, Truth is One and Objective not multiple and subjective, by that I mean 2 things contradictory cannot be right at the same time, it is either the case that it is wet or dry; heavy or light; good or bad; real or illusory. However today, we live in a society that claims to worship the Truth and Goodness, yet for the most part, popular truth conforms to Political Correctness and popular notions of what is right and wrong conform along the lines of Moral Relativism which produces no conviction and no certainty, therefore apathy in our culture is celebrated rather than fought against. The lack of conviction, the lack of certainty, the complete Apathy toward what is right and wrong has us in a state of disorientation and explains perfectly the Despair and Apathy of the Current Age.

The Church is indeed The Truth, but we need to understand how. Consider what all the Lasting Spiritual Traditions have to say and realize indeed that man has many interesting spiritual insights that he was able to arrive at through hard spiritual practice, however Christianity is so much more strange then all the other spiritualities exactly because at the end of the day a carpenter from an oppressed nation is placed on a tree and is called God. The difference here is that although the Fullness of Spiritual Knowledge is conferred, something else is imparted, something that goes beyond all Knowledge, and that is Love.

This God of Love and Truth, supremely other when compared to the gods of love created by the imaginative minds of men, reveals His Love for us by stooping down to our level for our sakes to bring us back into Himself so that we may have life to the full. Does Buddha, Moses, Mohammed, Lao Tzu, Confucius, Aristotle, and others, do any of these men suffer out of Love for Humanity? No, they seek wisdom they are Philosophers, and the same tradition that claims to have The Full and Revealed Truth of Full Disclosure of Love for the sake of Life also tells us to seek wisdom as well. What then is left to say? That man, in trying to find the Divine was able to come to insights and discoveries, but this is not the fullness of Divinity, only Divinity can reveal itself to us in no reason except out of Love, for in our weakness and faults we cannot earn it. We have the Fully Revealed Religion of the Divine, because it is Love and Truth and for any human being those 2 Qualities are all we need, it would be erroneous to turn back from the fullness of Loving Revealed Truth.

What Do You Think?

