Happy Thanksgiving!   Leave a comment

Wishing everyone a very Happy and Healthy Thanksgiving. Aside from the Food and the Family and Friends who will be around you on this day, I hope you are able to be in a mode of Gratitude for something today. It would be fitting to speak on the Virtue of Gratitude today, but briefly, for I am sure you are anxious to get to that Turkey sooner rather then later. Gratitude as described by the website Regnum Christi as, “the virtue that makes us aware of the gifts we receive each day and appreciative of the generosity of the giver. It moves our will to respond to these gifts by developing them, using them well, and putting them at the service of others.”

Gifts come in external and material forms but also as internal and psycho-spiritual forms as well. Your friends, your possessions, your health, and your basic needs being satisfied are all under the category of external and material gifts. Your positive personality traits, your skills, your talents, your virtues these are more so internal and psycho-spiritual gifts. However, we must recognize the gift-giver if we are to show true gratitude in them being given to us.

So as an example, take a person who manages to save up enough money to start a business. This person is known to have a talent for being insightful and intelligent, and yet empathic and personable. This person knows how best to use this talent as a means for having a living, but also knows how best to apply these gifts to those around him, this person could become a psychologist, of course the field of psychology is a broad field and they’ll know where best to apply their gifts. Another example, would be someone who offers their intellect up to God, not as a “sacrifice” parse, but for transformative purposes, upon offering ones intellect up to God for a period of time, they will have their intellectual talent increased, this giving ones intellect up and over to God is done to give gratitude to the one who gave us intellect in the first place.

A personal example from my own past of “offering up my intellect” to God, would be the span from High School up to this present day. In the beginning I viewed things as happening in a vacuum, everything was compartmentalized for me, physics was divorced from Theology, politics was divorced from economics, philosophy divorced from psychology, etc. However, what ended up bring together these disparate intellectual pursuits together for me, was the Christian Theological Virtues of Faith, Hope, and Love, in particular Love because there were times in this journey when my Faith was seen as antithetical to my spiritual desires and when my Hope was antithetical to my worldly experiences and desires. Now in only recent times (the past 6 months or so from the date this post was published) have I been able to work toward building an integral worldview with God rather then against God or forcing God to conform with my ego.

This is My Gratitude and My Joy, that despite all the times I rebelled and all the times I fall short, I am still guided down this path that I admit I did not have full conscious control over, but surrendered my will to a Higher Hope, a Higher Trust, and a Higher Love. In trying to strive to know it all, I needed to first admit I knew nothing and surrender to a Higher Reality that would give me my hearts desire to become someone better then I ever thought was imaginable for me back when I started out on this journey. The fruit of such transformation, also includes a more worldly Joy but a Spiritual Gratitude for having a Job when the National and Global Economy is hurting, for being healthy, for having friends, for having a roof over my head and clothes on my back. Gratitude is the beginning of Humility, and I have spoken on humility in the past.

I have here a pod-cast from Fr. Robert Barron concerning the proper use of ones talents, I think it would be wise to hear this. I will conclude with a Psalm and of course it wouldn’t be the holidays without a song to usher in that Christmas-Holiday Spirit:

Make a joyful shout to the LORD, all you lands!
Serve the LORD with gladness;
Come before His presence with singing.
Know that the LORD, He is God;
It is He who has made us, and not we ourselves;
We are His people and the sheep of His pasture.

Enter into His gates with thanksgiving,
And into His courts with praise.
Be thankful to Him, and bless His name.
For the LORD is good;
His mercy is everlasting,
And His truth endures to all generations. – Psalm 100

Posted November 24, 2011 by jimbo9889 in Current Events

Tagged with ,

What Do You Think?

